Argentina National Flag
  National Anthem
  Argentina Economy
  Argentina Geography
  National Symbols
  Argentina Art and Culture
  Argentina Heritage
  Argentina National Heroes
  Places in Argentina
  Historical Places
  Argentina History
  Argentina Political System
  Argentina Demography
  Cities of Argentina
Independence Day Dates
  Philippines-June 12
  Canada-July 1
  US-July 4,


-July 05
  Venezuela-July 5
  Argentina-July 9


-July 14
  Columbia-July 20
  Peru-July 28
  Jamaica -August 06


-August 09


-August 14


-August 15
  North Korea-August 15
  South Korea-August 15


-August 17


-August 19
  Russia-June 12


-August 31
  Brazil-Sept. 7
  Macedonia-Sept. 8
  Costa Rica -Sept. 15


-Sept. 16
  Saudi Arabia-Sept. 23
  New Zealand-Sept. 26


-October 1


-October 1
  Belgium-October 4
  Ukraine-August 24


-December 12
  Cameroon-January 01
  Australia-January 26


-October 03
  Sri Lanka-February 04
  Iran-February 10


-February 28
  Ghana-March 06
  Zimbabwe-April 18
  Ecuador-May 24
  South Africa-May 31
  Norway-May 17
123Independenceday » Argentina

Argentina’s Independence Day

Argentina’s Independence Day is celebrated on the 9th July of every year. The same day in the year 1816 granted independence to the country.It all happened with the continuation of the battle that started from the year 1810 against the Spanish colonizers. They ruled over the country with the assistance of the viceroys appointed by them who in the beginning imposed strict restrictions on the trade relations of Argentina with other countries, creating a monopoly over the market.

However the people of Argentina, mainly from Buenos Aires, the major ruling area of the colonizers, strongly opposed the move. This was noticed at the time of the British annexations when the people secretly succeeded in creating the unity of the whole nation of Argentina. After that as soon as the news of the conquest of Spain by the Napoleon Bonaparte spread across the entire Argentina, the country witnessed a strong revolution known as the May Revolution. The people of Argentina together took the move put an end to the viceroyalty of Baltasar Hidalgo de Cisneros. Their objective was the establishment of the Primea Junta government.

After a series of military battles, the Junta administration was replaced in the year 1811, giving the power in the hands of the Triumvirate that remained on the throne till 1812. From 1812 to 1813 Argentina’s northern region witnessed wars of Salta and Tucuman. In the middle of such happenings the public uprisings in the year 1812 led to the establishment of the Second Triumvirate. However following the war of San Lorenzo, the Second Triumvirate came under the leadership of Jose de San Martin, who in turn seeing the impending war conditions and the fear of Spain, organized the people to take the decision of single ruler administration, ending the Triumvirate. After that, the throne shifted to the King Ferdinand.

Then in the year 1816, an announcement in the gathering in Tucuman gave independent status to Argentina along with the move of introducing constitution for the country. They were collectively the administrative divisions of Rio de la Plata. Since then 25th May of every year is celebrated an honorable day in the memory of the May Revolution that became the benchmark in forging ahead towards the independence of Argentina. This day is popularly known as the May Revolution Day in Argentina.


Compare Infobase Limited Compare Infobase Limited
C-62,Community Center,Janakpuri,New Delhi-58(India)
Tel: +91-11-41588012, 41588013, 25542045
fax: +91-11-25547264
We are Hiring