Cities of China

China is a geographical area encompassing multiple territories, under two states, the People's Republic of China and the Republic of China. China, by the end of 2002 had more than 660 cities.

The following is a list of major cities in China:

  • Beijing
  • Shanghai
  • Tianjin
  • Chongqing
  • Hong Kong
  • Taipei
  • Guangzhou
  • Changsha

Beijing : As the capital of People's Republic of China , Beijing is situated on the north edge of the North China Plain , close to Tianjin Municipality and partially surrounded by Hebei Province . The city covers an area of more than 16,410 sq km and has a population of 14.93 million people .

Beijing, Jing for short, is referred to as the nation's political, economic, cultural and educational center as well as China's most important center for international trade and communication. Being one of the six ancient cities, it has been the heart and soul of society and politics during its long history and therefore there is an unparalleled wealth of discovery to pleasure and intrigue travelers as they explore Beijing's ancient past and enjoy its moving modern development. One can still experience authentic Beijing life and become acquainted with 'old Beijing' by exploring its many teahouses, temple fairs, Beijing's Hutong and Courtyard and enjoy the Peking Opera.

Shanghai: Shanghai, Hu for short, is located on the estuary of the Yangtze River of China. The largest industrial city of the world, it covers an area of 5,800 sq km and has a population of 18.7 million , including 2 million floating population.

Formerly, a seaside fishing village, Shanghai is now a multi-cultural metropolis with both modern and traditional Chinese features. It's the largest commercial center, drawing attention to the whole world. Modern Shanghai has three main attractions for its visitors; sightseeing, business and shopping centered upon People's Square along the Huangpu River.

Tianjin: One of the four municipalities of the People's Republic of China, it's about 120 km from Beijing and a major industrial and commercial city in north China. Tianjin has provincial-level status and comes directly under the central government with an urban area which is the third largest city in Mainland China.

Tianjin, which means, 'the place where the emperor crossed the river' , has in recent years received more and more attention both from tourists at home and abroad, due to its rich history and also offshore shipping, and foreign trade.

Chongqing: With an area of 82,400 sq km , this port city is the fourth and largest municipality after Beijing, Shanghai , and Tianjin . Located in the upper reaches of the Yangtze River , it is also the most populous city of China.

Chongqing is surrounded by a wealth of water reserves, mineral resources, dense forests and abundant flora and fauna. It's the largest industrial and commercial center in south-west China and a heart of land and water transportation in the upper Yangtze valley. It's a popular tourist attraction as well as a commercial city.

Hong Kong: Comprising over 260 islands , and situated on the eastern banks of the Pearl River Delta , facing the South China Sea in the south and bordering Guangdong Province in the north, Hong Kong is one of the two Special Administrative Regions (SARs) of the People's Republic of China. It covers an area of 1,104 sq km.

Hong Kong has grown from a simple fishing village into the world's fourth largest banking and financial center and eighth largest trading economy. An open city with a wonderful natural harbor, it's the summit of various cultures that blend harmoniously with Chinese traditions and exotic influences. Set between the most beautiful natural surroundings it has all the benefits of a booming and vibrant commercial center.

Taipei: The Taipei-Keelung metropolitan area is the largest in Taiwan, which includes the Taipei City, Taipei County and Keelung City . Being the capital of the Republic of China , it has a total land area of 2,457.1253 sq km and a population of 6,752,826.

Located at the center of the Taipei Basin of the Taiwan Province and to the right bank of Danshui River , it's Taiwan's center of political, cultural, economic, commercial, mass media, educational center and pop culture and is considered to be one of the "Gamma world cities" , besides also being the largest.

Guangzhou: Guangzhou, the capital and the sub-provincial city of Guangdong Province in the southern part of the People's Republic of China and north of the Pearl River Delta, it lies close to the South China Sea , Hong Kong , and Macau . Covering an area of 7434.4 sq km , the city has a population of 6 million, and a metropolitan population of 12.6 million , making it the most populous city in the province and the third most populous metropolitan area in China.

Guangzhou, the South Gate of China , is a flourishing metropolis full of vigor and the center of its political, economic, scientific, educational and cultural life. With railways and highways radiating in all directions, and convenient inland-water, coastal and ocean transport, it's the biggest national-and-foreign-oriented city with a flourishing commercial hub. It's also China's well-known historical and cultural city.

Changsha: Capital of Hunan , a province of South central China, and located on the lower reaches of Xiangjiang River , a branch of the Yangtze River, it covers an area of 11,819 sq km and has a population of 6,017,600.

Changsha abounds in agricultural and aquatic resources and the industries of this city are mainly machine building, food and textile. With a recorded history which can be traced back to 3000 years, it's famous for its rich historical culture.


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.