Independence Day of Ecuador

The Republic of Ecuador celebrated its first Independence Day on the 24th of May, 1822 when they got their independence from the Spain. 'El Primer Grito de Independencia' the local name for Independence Day of Ecuador is widely celebrated throughout as a National Holiday.

The anniversary of the nation's independent statehood from under the Spanish rule marks the beginning of a new era for the Ecuadorians.

After nearly three hundred years of Spanish colonization, the first major attempt for independence was made in 1809, but this only lasted for 24 days before the Spanish army regained control of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. Simón Bolívar, who first led the fight for freedom in Venezuela and Colombia, then made his way to Ecuador to lead the independence movement in 1820. The two-year battle of the famous Battle of Pichincha, on the slopes of the Pichincha volcano, 3,500 meters above sea-level, right next to the city of Quito, in modern Ecuador, saw the defeat of the Spanish army led by Bolívar on 24th May, 1822.

On this auspicious day the people celebrate the Independence Day of Ecuador with much funfair and merriment. The celebration usually includes military parades and civic events held around the country. Agricultural, artisan and poultry fair together with typical dances and music parades also take place all over the country.


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.