Political System of Kenya

The political system of Kenya is characterized by democratic republic government whereby the President is both chief of state as well as head of government. There is also a vice president and members of the Cabinet who make up the executive branch. The powers of the government in Kenya are distributed among the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. In the political system of Kenya, the judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Kenya is divided into 8 administrative regions consisting of 7 provinces and Nairobi the capital city. The 7 provinces of Kenya are Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley, and Western. The government of Kenya takes charge of administration of districts and provinces.

The Executive
The executive power in the political system of Kenya is vested in the President who is both Chief of state and also head of Government. The President of Kenya is elected for a term of 5 years by popular vote and is eligible for re-elections for a second term. The President performs his executive functions with the assistance of a vice president and the Cabinet ministers. The President is responsible for appointing the vice President as well as the members of the Cabinet.

The legislature
The legislative power in Kenya is held by unicameral National Assembly or Bunge consisting of 224 members. Out of the 224 members, 210 members are elected by popular vote for a term five years. The remaining 12 nominated members are appointed by the president but selected by political parties on the basis of proportional representation, and 2 ex-officio members.

The judiciary in Kenya is headed by the High Court and Court of Appeal. The Chief justice and the judges of the High Court and Court of Appeals are appointed by the President. There are also smaller courts of justices in Kenya like the Resident Magistrate's Courts and the District Magistrate Courts.

The Major Political Parties of Kenya are -
Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-Kenya or FORD-Kenya
Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-People or FORD-People
Kenya African National Union or KANU
National Rainbow Coalition-Kenya or NARC-K
Orange Democratic Movement-Kenya or ODM-Kenya


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.