Political System of Nigeria

The political system of Nigeria has undergone various changes over the last few decades. During the past few years, the country witnessed political tumult aided by military coup at different stages which destabilized the stability of the country. A comprehensive analysis of the political system of Nigeria remains incomplete without mentioning its rich glorious history which has played a great role in redefining the various aspects of the political growth of the country.

A Brief Historical Background of Nigeria

Historical evidences indicate that during 11th century, the vast land of Nigeria was inhabited by different tribesman and later this diversification culminated into the formation and rise of popular kingdoms. Most importantly, the northeastern part of Nigeria was ruled over by Borno, the Hausa citystate kingdoms of Katsina, Kano, Zaria, and Gobir in the northerncentral Nigeria, the Yoruba citystates/kingdoms of Ife, Oyo, and Ijebu in southwestern Nigeria, the southern kingdom of Benin, and the Igbo communities of eastern Nigeria were all placed under different reigns at different times. From the second half of 19th century to 20th century the British took over the administrative, political and military charges of the country thereby leading to great political upheaval. Finally, after years of hard struggle the country achieved independence in the year 1st October 1960.

Constitution of Nigeria

Nigeria was declared as republic on 1st October, 1963 but in the due course certain amendments were made. But finally on 5th May 1999 the present day constitution was adopted which came into force on 31st May. As per the constitution of Nigeria, it is divided into three divisions asexecutive, legislature and judiciary. Special powers and laws are also framed for the local government. The legislative powers are vested in the hands of National Assembly, which comprises of a Senate and a House of Representatives. The Senate consists of 109 members Senate elected for a term of four years. While the House of Representatives consists of 360 members, elected from each of the assigned constituencies of the country for a period of fouryear. The Senate and House of Representatives is presided over by a Speaker and Deputy Speaker, elected by the members of the House. One of the major aspects of the Nigerian political system lies in the fact that the executive powers of the government are in the hands of President, who is also the Head of State, the Chief Executive of the Federation and the CommanderinChief of the Armed Forces of the Federation of Nigeria. The Nigerian judiciary consists of a Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and a Federal High Court. It's also important to note that each state of Nigeria has High Court, a Sharia Court of Appeal and a Customary Court of Appeal and the Chief Judges of these courts are appointed on the advisory counsel of a National Judicial Council.

In the Present Times

The present day political system of Nigeria is inflicted with various problems that later culminates into political unrest. In the recent years, Nigeria has evolved as one of the fastest growing economies of Africa.

Thus, an overview of political system of Nigeria gives you a clear idea of the prevalent political conditions there.


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.