Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea Turkey Ukraine Zimbabwe
  Philippines National Flag  
  Philippines National Anthem  
  Philippines Economy  
  Philippines Geography  
  Philippines National Symbols  
  Philippines Art and Culture  
  Philippines Heritage  
  Philippines National Heroes  
  Places in Philippines  
  Historical Places in Philippines  
  Philippines History  
  Philippines Political System  
  Philippines Demography  
  Cities of Philippines  

National Flag the Philippines

123Independenceday » Philippines» National Flag

The national flag of the Philippines was adopted on 12th June, 1898. Out of many earlier versions the current national flag of the Philippines evolved first conceptualized by Emilio Aguinaldo, a freemason.


The National Flag of the Philippines comprises of two stripes of Red forming the upper strip and Blue at the bottom and a White stripe to the left of the flag area. Inside the white triangle is a central golden-yellow sun with eight rays. A five-pointed star is presented in each angle of the triangle.

The Filipino national flag had been variously interpreted with different symbolic meanings. According to the Proclamation of Philippine Independence, 12th June, 1898, the white triangle is the distinctive emblem of the 'Katipunan' which by means of its blood compact inspired the Philippine peoples to rise in revolution. The three small stars represent the three geographical island groups of the country, viz the Visayas, Luzon and Mindanao, conveying the unity of separate peoples and cultures into one Nation. The sun symbolizes liberty and also the dawning of a new era of self determination that was desired in 1897 after the Spanish-American war and the US promise of independence, which was granted in 1946, and the eight rays of the sun represent the first eight provinces, Manila, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Laguna, and Batangas, which revolted against Spanish rule.

The significance of the color Red stands for patriotism and valor and also courage and bravery, the Blue stands for peace, truth and justice and also noble ideals, the color white represents peace and purity besides standing for equality and fraternity and the sun symbolizes the gigantic strides that have been made by the Sons of this land on the road to progress and civilization.

The present Philippines's national flag evolved out of many earlier versions, all of them traced their origin from the common endeavors of the Philippine revolutionaries to show their love for the country. The first Philippine flag was the war banner adopted in 1892 by Andres Bonifacio. The current National flag of the Philippines was first designed by General Aguinaldo in 1897 during his exile in Hong Kong. It was sewn in Hong Kong by Marcela de Agoncillo and her daughter Lorenza on the request of Aguinaldo. Mrs. Agoncillo sewed the banner that later became the Philippine National Flag adopted on 19th May, 1898.The features of national flag of the Philippines have remained basically unchanged since it was designed shortly after the Spanish-American War of 1898.

For more information on the Philippines look up

Compare Infobase Limited
C-62,Community Center,Janakpuri,New Delhi-58(India)
Tel: +91-11-41588012, 41588013, 25542045
fax: +91-11-25547264
We are Hiring