Singapore Independence Timeline


Singapore is a strategically located island city-state, situated at the tip of the Malay peninsula, off southern Malaysia. Singapore is the natural meeting point of sea routes, a port city, a global financial centre and a multi-cultural population. The Independence Day of Singapore known as the National Day is celebrated every year on the 9th of August to commemorate Singapore's independence from Malaysia.

A Peek into Singapore's Past

Singapore's earliest known historical records are not very clear and remain a mystery. However the following details of Singapore are known:

  • Singapore was known as "Pu-luo-chung” or the “island at the end of a peninsula sometime in the 3rd century.
  • From AD 1298-1299, during the first settlements here, Singapore was known as Temasek.
  • The name Singapore was given by Sang Nela Utama in the 14th C
  • The name Singapore is derived from the Sanskrit word Singapura. Singa means lion and pura means city.
  • Ancient Singapore was ruled by a succession of 5 kings.
  • Modern Singapore was founded in the early 19th C with the colonization by the British.
  • On 15 February 1942 during the 2nd World War Singapore was taken over by the Japanese for 3 ˝ years till the Japanese surrendered in 1945, and Singapore became a Crown Colony in April 1946.
  • In 1959 Singapore became a democracy.
  • There was a merger of Singapore, Federation of Malaya, Sarawak and North Borneo (now Sabah) in 1963 forming Malaysia
  • .
  • The merger was unsuccessful and on 9th August, 1965, Singapore separated from Malaysia to become an independent democratic nation.


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.