National Symbols of South Korea

The National symbols of South Korea represent the country and its people, their traditions and culture. These symbols embody the essence of the nation and hold a significant place of pride among the citizens of the country. The highest order of regard and honor is associated with the National symbols of South Korea. Here is a list of the National symbols of South Korea-

  • National Flag
  • National Anthem
  • Coat of Arms
  • National Flower
South Korea Flag

National Flag

The National Flag of Korea is called Taegukki, the meaning of which has originated from the old oriental philosophy called the theory of Um-Yang. Chinese pronounce it as Yin-Yang. The National flag was designed by Bak Yeong-hyo, who was the Korean ambassador to Japan. On 6 March, 1883 King Gojong declared the Taegeukki the official National flag of Korea.

The National flag consist of three parts which includes a white background with a red and blue taegeuk in the center and four black trigrams, placed in each corner of the flag. The design of the National flag symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang derived from Chinese philosophy. The flag is the leading National symbol of South Korea.

Coat of Arms

Coat of Arms

The Coat of Arms was adopted as the National Emblem of South Korea in 1963 and consists of the ‘taeguk' symbol bordered by five petals and a ribbon bearing the inscription “The Republic of Korea" in Hangul characters.

The Yin and Yang on the Coat of Arms symbolizes peace and harmony and the five petals are associated with the national flower of Korea (the Hibiscus syriacus).

The Coat of Arms is placed on important government documents, facilities, badges and embossers and is also an important national symbol of South Korea.

Coat of Arms

National Flower

The national flower of South Korea is Hibiscus syriacus which appears on national emblems. Also in the lyrics of the South Korean national anthem, Korea is poetically compared to the flower. In Korean language the flower is known as mugunghwa and is also one of the national symbols of South Korea.

National Anthem

The national anthem of South Korea is titled ‘Aegukga' which means “The Song of Love for the Country”. The music of the National anthem was composed by Ahn Eaktay and the lyrics were either penned by Yun Chiho or An Chang-Ho.

Three years subsequent to the end of Japanese occupation, in 1948 "Aegukga" was officially adopted by that government as the National anthem of Korea. The anthem consist of four verses (with chorus), although only the first verse and chorus are generally sung. The anthem is an important national symbol of South Korea.


Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.